Getting EsentFileAccessDeniedException from Api.JetInit

Aug 19, 2013 at 9:44 PM
Hello,

I am new to Esent and am just starting writing my prototype. This library is great. The documentation and samples have helped me put together my working prototype quite quickly.

Now I am adding more functionality and using it from an extended folder menu and I suddenly started getting this EsentFileAccessDeniedException from Api.JetInit. It does not even tell which file it is complaining about. I searched the forum for this exception but there is no mention. I am the only one working on this machine using an Administrator group member account.

Here are first 3 lines of the exception trace:

Microsoft.Isam.Esent.Interop.EsentFileAccessDeniedException: Cannot access file, the file is locked or in use
at Microsoft.Isam.Esent.Interop.Api.Check(Int32 err) in e:\src\codeplex_svn\codeplex\EsentInterop\Api.cs:line 2859
at Microsoft.Isam.Esent.Interop.Api.JetInit(JET_INSTANCE& instance) in e:\src\codeplex_svn\codeplex\EsentInterop\Api.cs:line 130

Please help,

Thanks,
-Jayant.
Aug 19, 2013 at 10:17 PM
extended folder menu
You're using a ESENT database from shell extension, aren't you?
There might be several explorer.exe processes, only the first instance of your shell extension runs OK, while subsequent instances get the error because of file sharing violation. Can it be the cause of your problem?
It does not even tell which file it is complaining about
You can find it using free Process Monitor software:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896645.aspx
Set the filter so it only display failed file system operations, and reproduce the problem.
Aug 19, 2013 at 10:32 PM
Yes. Shell Extension. That is the right term. Sorry, I am a bit new to Microsoft world.